USS ARD-27

Name
USS ARD-27
Hull designation
ARD-27
Vessel class
ARD
Evidence tier
Tier 2
Evidence entries
13
Record ID
uss-ard-27-ard27
Dataset version
2026.10.12-rc.1
Canonical URL
https://asbestosatlas.org/ships/uss-ard-27-ard27

Evidence

13 evidence entries recorded; each entry has a stable permalink (#ev-1 … #ev-13).

  1. [1]research packet ay-packet.md (2 sources cited) [other_primary]
    Finding type
    vessel_history
    Finding
    Identity packet verdict: VERIFIED — real identity: ARD-27 (never named; served as USS ARD-27 while in USN service)
    Verification
    verified
    Role
    supporting
    Documentation level
    ship_specific
    Evidence ID
    uss-ard-27-ard27-pkt-ay-packet-md
  2. [2]Bureau of Ships, Ships' Data, U.S. Naval Vessels, Vol. III: Auxiliary, District Craft and Unclassified Vessels, NAVSHIPS 250-012, 15 April 1945 (Google-scan PDF via shipscribe.com) [other_primary]
    Locator
    Vol. III, Floating Dry Docks (ARD) characteristics table, book pp. 605-607 (scan PDF pp. ~625-626), row 'ARD 27'
    Finding type
    vessel_history
    Finding
    The Bureau of Ships' official Ships' Data volume dated 15 April 1945 lists ARD-27 on the register of U.S. naval vessels as a one-piece steel floating dry dock: nominal lifting capacity 3,500 tons; suitable for docking destroyers, landing ships (LST), and submarines; overall length 491 ft 8 in; construction finished 1944.
    Verification
    partial
    Role
    supporting
    Documentation level
    ship_specific
    Accessed
    2026-09-26
    Study period
    1944-1945
    Limitations
    Scanned tabular page is partially legible in OCR - row designation, dock type ('do' = one-piece steel), 3,500-ton nominal capacity, vessel types suited for docking (DD/SS/LST), 491 ft 8 in overall length, and 1944 finish year read consistently; individual cell values were cross-checked against NavSource and the Naval Vessel Register where possible. Contains no asbestos, materials, or condition information; supports no asbestos claim.
    Atlas source
    true
    Evidence ID
    ev-uss-ard-27-ard27-01
  3. [3]Carter, Worrall Reed, Rear Admiral USN, 'Beans, Bullets and Black Oil: The Story of Fleet Logistics Afloat in the Pacific during World War II,' Department of the Navy, 1953 - Chapter XXVII, 'Logistics at Kerama Retto for the Okinawa Operation' (HyperWar transcription) [nhhc_danfs]
    Locator
    Chapter XXVII, pp. 348-349 (ARD-27 arrival at Kerama Retto, 22 May 1945)
    Finding type
    vessel_history
    Finding
    Official Navy history of Service Force Pacific (Carter, 'Beans, Bullets and Black Oil,' 1953) documents ARD-27 at the Kerama Retto forward repair anchorage during the Okinawa operation: 'The ARD's 22 and 27 were towed by the fleet tugs Menominee and Tenino. ARD-27 reached Kerama 22 May; ARD-22 on the 26th.' Kerama Retto hosted salvage, repair, and drydocking support for kamikaze-damaged ships; four ARDs operated there once ARD-22 and ARD-27 arrived.
    Verification
    verified
    Role
    supporting
    Documentation level
    ship_specific
    Accessed
    2026-09-26
    Study period
    1945
    Population
    ARD-27 crew; repair personnel and crews of docked/damaged vessels at Kerama Retto
    Limitations
    Official-history narrative names this hull directly. The text does not specify which of the two fleet tugs (Menominee or Tenino) towed ARD-27 versus ARD-22, and does not itemize the dock's subsequent assignment; it documents presence within the Okinawa Gunto campaign window, not a claim about materials or conditions aboard. No asbestos content.
    Atlas source
    true
    Evidence ID
    ev-uss-ard-27-ard27-02
  4. [4]Carter, 'Beans, Bullets and Black Oil,' Department of the Navy, 1953 - Appendix, Service Force Pacific officer assignments, Floating Drydocks (HyperWar transcription) [nhhc_danfs]
    Locator
    Appendix, Floating Drydocks roster, 'ARD-27 | LtComdr F.J. Silvernail'
    Finding type
    vessel_history
    Finding
    The Service Force Pacific personnel roster appended to the same official history lists ARD-27 under 'Floating Drydocks' with commanding officer LtComdr F.J. Silvernail.
    Verification
    verified
    Role
    supporting
    Documentation level
    ship_specific
    Accessed
    2026-09-26
    Study period
    1944-1945
    Limitations
    Establishes commanding-officer identity for this hull in the Service Force Pacific organization; the roster does not give assignment dates, so Silvernail's period of command is not bounded by this source alone. No asbestos content.
    Atlas source
    true
    Evidence ID
    ev-uss-ard-27-ard27-03
  5. [5]Navy and Marine Corps Awards Manual, NAVPERS 15790 (1953), Part IV, Section 2, paragraph 18 II(A) - Units Eligible, Navy Occupation Service Medal ship list (HyperWar transcription) [other_primary]
    Locator
    Part IV, Section 2, sub-section 18, 'II. UNITS ELIGIBLE - (A) SHIPS' table, row 'ARD 27 | 2 Sep 45 - 9 Jan 46 | A'
    Finding type
    historical_record
    Finding
    The Navy and Marine Corps Awards Manual (NAVPERS 15790, 1953 revision) Part IV lists ARD 27 among ships eligible for the Navy Occupation Service Medal, Asiatic-Pacific ('A' clasp), for the period 2 September 1945 to 9 January 1946 - official confirmation of postwar occupation duty in the Far East.
    Verification
    verified
    Role
    supporting
    Documentation level
    ship_specific
    Accessed
    2026-09-26
    Study period
    1945-1946
    Population
    ARD-27 crew during occupation service
    Limitations
    Establishes the creditable occupation-service period and Asia clasp only; the table does not state the ship's station (Okinawa, Japan proper, or elsewhere in the Asiatic-Pacific area) during that period. No asbestos content.
    Atlas source
    true
    Evidence ID
    ev-uss-ard-27-ard27-04
  6. [6]NavSource Naval History, USS ARD-27 service ship photo archive page (navsource.net/archives/09/67/6727.htm) [other_primary]
    Locator
    ARD-27 page: chronology, campaign table, and specifications block
    Finding type
    vessel_history
    Finding
    NavSource's compiled ARD-27 page (secondary compilation drawing on Navy records): ARD-12-class auxiliary repair dock; laid down 194- (page text truncated) at Pacific Bridge Co., Alameda, CA; delivered June 1944; commissioned USS ARD-27, June 1944; Asiatic-Pacific Theater, Okinawa Gunto operation, assault and occupation of Okinawa Gunto 15 May to 30 June 1945; Navy Occupation service 2 September 1945 to 9 January 1946; decommissioned date unknown; struck date unknown; scrapped 1974; one battle star for WWII; characteristics 5,200 t displacement, 492 ft length, 81 ft beam, 6 ft draft; complement and armament listed 'unknown'; no DANFS entry exists and no photographs are cataloged.
    Verification
    partial
    Role
    supporting
    Documentation level
    ship_specific
    Accessed
    2026-09-26
    Study period
    1944-1974
    Limitations
    Secondary compilation, not an official record - retained because every checkable element agrees with official sources (commissioning window consistent with Ships' Data 1945 listing; Okinawa presence corroborated by the official fleet-logistics history arriving 22 May 1945; occupation dates match the 1953 awards manual exactly; disposal consistent with NVR and the 1974 DoD sale letter). Battle-star and 'scrapped 1974' statements rest on NavSource alone pending the official campaign-credit list. No asbestos content.
    Atlas source
    true
    Evidence ID
    ev-uss-ard-27-ard27-05
  7. [7]Naval Vessel Register (nvr.navy.mil), ship detail page 'NO NAME (ARD 27)', last updated 13 September 2000 (Internet Archive Wayback capture 26 January 2017) [other_primary]
    Locator
    NVR ship detail: UIC 05377; Stricken Date 04/01/1973; status 'Disposed of, by Navy Sale' dated 09/01/1974; type 'AUXILIARY REPAIR DRY DOCK (N-S-P)'
    Finding type
    vessel_history
    Finding
    The Naval Vessel Register entry for this hull (archived official page): 'NO NAME (ARD 27), AUXILIARY REPAIR DRY DOCK (N-S-P)', UIC 05377, class ARD 12; stricken 1 April 1973; status changed 1 September 1974 to 'Disposed of, by Navy Sale'; hull material steel; propulsion type none.
    Verification
    verified
    Role
    supporting
    Documentation level
    ship_specific
    Accessed
    2026-09-26
    Study period
    1973-1974
    Limitations
    Official register record, terse: milestone fields for construction, delivery, commissioning, and decommissioning are blank, and the register does not distinguish administrative stricken date from physical disposal. Wayback capture of the live DoD page; no asbestos or materials statement.
    Atlas source
    true
    Evidence ID
    ev-uss-ard-27-ard27-06
  8. [8]Defense Property Disposal Regional Office Columbus, letter DPDSSO-C of 27 August 1974, 'Sale of Floating Dry-dock, Salvage Ship, Fuel Oil, Gasoline and Water Barges' (verbatim reproduction hosted on the USS Current ARS-22 veterans' site - ARS-22 is item 2 on the same sale) [other_primary]
    Locator
    Documents page, DPDO Columbus letter to CO NISMF Pearl Harbor; sale 16-5011 award table, item 1 'ARD-27'
    Finding type
    historical_record
    Finding
    A reproduced Department of Defense disposal letter (Defense Property Disposal Regional Office Columbus, Newport Ship Sales Residency, Portsmouth RI, 27 August 1974) documents the sale of ARD-27: item 1 on sale 16-5011 (opened 21 August 1974), awarded to Ticonian Trading Corp., 1185 Avenue of the Americas, New York NY, for $400,010.00 with removal date 27 September 1974; the letter is addressed to the Commanding Officer, Naval Inactive Ship Maintenance Facility Pearl Harbor, establishing that the hull was in inactive custody at Pearl Harbor at disposal.
    Verification
    verified
    Role
    supporting
    Documentation level
    ship_specific
    Accessed
    2026-09-26
    Study period
    1974
    Population
    scrapping-yard workforce (Ticonian Trading Corp. contract removal), 1974
    Limitations
    A verbatim reproduction of an official DoD disposal letter hosted on a private veterans' site rather than a government domain; corroborated by the Naval Vessel Register status line ('Disposed of, by Navy Sale', 09/01/1974) and by NavSource's 'scrapped 1974'. Sale for dismantling implies scrapping; the breaker's yard and location are not documented. No asbestos content - pre-CERCLA-era surplus sale documentation does not carry hazmat disclosures.
    Atlas source
    true
    Evidence ID
    ev-uss-ard-27-ard27-07
  9. [9]Building the Navy's Bases in World War II (Bureau of Yards and Docks official history), Chapter IX 'Floating Drydocks' (HyperWar); Corn & Starr, Am. J. Ind. Med. 11(3):359-373 (1987); Navy/DOE EIS-0524 (USS Enterprise reactor plants disposal) Section 3.2.2.1.1 [other_primary]
    Locator
    Building Bases ch. IX, ARD design description; AJIM 11(3) doi.org/10.1002/ajim.4700110311; energy.gov EIS-0524 final PDF (2023-06)
    Finding type
    asbestos_application
    Finding
    Class/era inference: this hull was built in 1943-44 to wartime Navy specifications as a self-sustaining auxiliary repair dock - the official Bureau of Yards and Docks design history describes the ARD type as carrying its own diesel-electric power plant, pumping plant, repair shops, and crew accommodations. Peer-reviewed scholarship documents extensive asbestos use as fireproofing and insulation in WWII-era U.S. shipbuilding, and the Navy's own ship-disposal environmental impact statement records that asbestos-containing material 'is found throughout Navy ships in insulating materials on piping systems, in electrical cables, and on ship structures.'
    Verification
    inferred
    Role
    supporting
    Documentation level
    class_or_era
    Accessed
    2026-09-26
    Study period
    1943-1974
    Population
    Pacific Bridge construction trades 1943-44; ARD-27 crew 1944 through decommissioning; crews of vessels docked for repair; NISMF Pearl Harbor caretakers; 1974 scrapping workforce
    Limitations
    Class/era and design-level inference only - no source located names ARD-27 in connection with asbestos. The design description establishes the categories of spaces and machinery aboard (power plant, pumps, shops, accommodations), not the insulation content. Does not establish quantity, condition, present-day presence (hull was scrapped 1974), individual exposure, or causation.
    Atlas source
    true
    Evidence ID
    ev-uss-ard-27-ard27-08
  10. [10]The War Zone (twz.com) reporting verbatim the U.S. Coast Guard sale listing for ex-Oak Ridge (ARDM-1) at the Coast Guard Yard, Curtis Bay, Baltimore - 'WWII Vintage USS Oak Ridge Is Being Auctioned Off' (2019) [reputable_press]
    Locator
    Article quoting the official sale listing: 'Hazardous materials such as asbestos containing material and lead paint have been either encapsulated or stabilized. All known PCB containing materials have been entirely removed.'
    Finding type
    asbestos_application
    Finding
    Sister-hull disclosure (class-level, closest available evidence): ex-USS Oak Ridge (ARD-19, later ARDM-1), an ARD-12-class dock built at the same Pacific Bridge Co. yard in 1943-44, was offered for sale by the U.S. Coast Guard/GSA with the disclosure that 'hazardous materials such as asbestos containing material and lead paint have been either encapsulated or stabilized' - official confirmation that asbestos-containing material was present aboard a same-class, same-builder hull.
    Verification
    verified
    Role
    context
    Documentation level
    class_or_era
    Accessed
    2026-09-26
    Study period
    2018-2019 disclosure; 1943-44 construction era
    Population
    ARD-12-class crews (class context)
    Limitations
    Documents ACM aboard a sister hull (ARD-19), not ARD-27 - supports the class-level inference but is not ship-specific evidence for this dock. Oak Ridge was rebuilt as ARDM-1 in 1962-63, so its material condition at 2018 sale is not identical to an unmodified WWII ARD. Does not establish presence, quantity, or condition aboard ARD-27, which was scrapped in 1974.
    Atlas source
    true
    Evidence ID
    ev-uss-ard-27-ard27-09
  11. [11]CourtListener API v4 opinion and RECAP docket searches via authenticated fleet helper (cl-auth-search.py), 2026-09-26 [court_record]
    Locator
    search_ledger rows sl-uss-ard-27-ard27-09 and sl-uss-ard-27-ard27-10
    Finding type
    litigation_documented
    Finding
    CourtListener sweep (authenticated, 2026-09-26): opinion index for exact token 'ARD-27' returned one hit - In re Estate of Tanner, 295 S.W.3d 610 (Tenn. 2009), a Medicaid estate-recovery case in which the token is a claim identifier, classified as a name collision. RECAP docket searches for 'ARD-27' and spaced variant 'ARD 27' each returned 23 dockets, all name collisions (the token appears as internal exhibit/document identifiers; no asbestos suit nature, no vessel reference - sampled case names are antitrust, civil-rights, bankruptcy, and criminal dockets). A builder-name query ('Pacific Bridge' + asbestos) returned six dockets: the MDL-875 master docket and three W.D. Washington asbestos cases (Holck v. Carrier Corp. 3:13-cv-05905; Yoder v. CBS Corp. 2:14-cv-00006; McCrossin v. A.W. Chesterton Co. 3:14-cv-05382) - in each, 'Pacific Bridge' appears only inside master exhibit lists as corporate-document references (discovery-stage builder-level material naming no hull). No qualifying asbestos litigation naming ARD-27 was located.
    Verification
    partial
    Role
    negative_finding
    Documentation level
    ship_specific
    Accessed
    2026-09-26
    Study period
    2026-09-26
    Limitations
    Sweep is near-complete but not exhaustive: the post-disposal buyer query ('Ticonian Trading') remained fleet-paced at session end, and RECAP coverage is incomplete by nature - many state-court and unscraped federal dockets are not indexed, and filings that name the hull only inside un-OCR'd attachments would not surface. The Pacific Bridge exhibit-list hits are discovery-stage corporate-document references in other plaintiffs' cases; they establish that builder corporate records circulated in Washington asbestos litigation, not that ARD-27 was alleged as an exposure site. Absence of a located pleading is not proof no claim exists.
    Atlas source
    true
    Evidence ID
    ev-uss-ard-27-ard27-10
  12. [12]Batch-2565 search ledger (this record): NVR detail page; DPDO sale letter reproduction; NAVSHIPS 250-012; BBBO ch. XXVII + appendix; NAVPERS 15790 Part IV; NavSource; CourtListener opinion query [other_primary]
    Locator
    search_ledger rows sl-uss-ard-27-ard27-01 through sl-uss-ard-27-ard27-12
    Finding type
    historical_record
    Finding
    No qualifying ship-specific asbestos record located: no asbestos survey, abatement contract, hazmat disclosure, condition report, or docketed case naming ARD-27 was found in the public sources searched - the Naval Vessel Register entry, the 1974 DoD sale documentation, the 1945 BuShips Ships' Data listing, the official fleet-logistics history, and the awards-manual eligibility table contain no asbestos or insulation-material statement (see search_ledger).
    Verification
    verified
    Role
    negative_finding
    Documentation level
    ship_specific
    Accessed
    2026-09-26
    Study period
    2026-09-26
    Limitations
    Absence of a located public record does not prove absence of asbestos aboard - a 1943-44 wartime Navy auxiliary with crew accommodations and a diesel-electric machinery plant is era-consistent with installed asbestos-containing materials, and a same-class sister hull (ARD-19) is officially documented with ACM. Does not establish presence or absence; does not establish or defeat any exposure claim or legal eligibility.
    Atlas source
    true
    Evidence ID
    ev-uss-ard-27-ard27-11
  13. [13]NARA record-group guidance: RG 24 deck logs (archives.gov/research/military/logbooks/navy and navy-online pages), RG 19 BuShips records, RG 181 naval-district records [other_primary]
    Locator
    NARA deck-log guidance page; catalog.archives.gov series 594258 (digitization status of ARD-27 logs not verified - catalog API requires a key not held by this session)
    Finding type
    historical_record
    Finding
    Archival leads (not retrieved - research-room or reproduction work; no spend authorized): NARA RG 24 (Bureau of Naval Personnel deck logs, Entry 118 / National Archives Identifier 594258 digitized series, plus Special List 44 for pre-1947 logs) should hold this commissioned craft's deck logs documenting towing passages, Kerama/Okinawa stationing, and crew; RG 19 (Bureau of Ships) construction/contract records and General Information Books for Pacific Bridge-built ARDs; RG 181 (14th Naval District, Pearl Harbor) records for Naval Inactive Ship Maintenance Facility custody and inactivation files; NRO/DRMS case file for sale 16-5011 (1974).
    Verification
    unverified
    Role
    archival_lead
    Documentation level
    context_only
    Accessed
    2026-09-26
    Study period
    1944-1974 records
    Limitations
    Record-group mapping only - no box-level retrieval performed; whether ARD-27 deck logs are digitized was not confirmed (NARA catalog API not accessible from this session). Existence of asbestos-specific documents is unknown until surveyed. Nothing in this row is an asbestos finding.
    Atlas source
    true
    Evidence ID
    ev-uss-ard-27-ard27-12

Attribution

Compiled by
Paul Danziger; Rod de Llano
Publisher
Danziger & De Llano, LLP
License
CC-BY-4.0
Citation
Danziger, P., and De Llano, R. (2026). AsbestosAtlas Navy Vessel Asbestos Exposure Dataset. Danziger & De Llano, LLP. DOI: not yet assigned
Dataset version
asbestosatlas-ships-2026.10.12-rc.1
DOI
not yet assigned