Evidence
11 evidence entries recorded; each entry has a stable permalink (#ev-1 … #ev-11).
-
[1]research packet 966-packet.md [other_primary]
- Finding type
- vessel_history
- Finding
- Identity packet verdict: VERIFIED (hull/name pairing confirmed). NOT a re-scope
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- supporting
- Documentation level
- ship_specific
- Evidence ID
- uss-grafton-pcs1431-pkt-966-packet-md
-
[2]DANFS Vol. III p. 129, Grafton II (PCS-1431) - construction, sponsor, Fleet Sonar School service, Naval Reserve training, naming, striking, disposal (verbatim transcription; live NHHC page returned 404) [nhhc_danfs]
- Locator
- DANFS Vol. III p. 129, Grafton II entry - service narrative and spec block
- Finding type
- vessel_history
- Finding
- Documented for this hull: 'The second Grafton was laid down as PCS-1431 by Gibbs Gas Engine Corp., Jacksonville, Fla., 12 May 1943; launched 2 November; sponsored by Mrs. John R. Thompson; and commissioned 24 March 1944, Lt. George J. Meyer in command. After shakedown off the coast of Florida PCS-1431 was assigned to the Fleet Sonar School, Key West, Fla., where she assisted future submariners in learning the skills of offensive and defensive undersea warfare. She remained off Key West throughout the war years, and continued similar services out of Florida from 1946 to 1955. During May 1955, PCS-1431 was designated a Naval Reserve training ship. She decommissioned 13 July 1955, and for the next 10 years she performed reserve operations along the Ohio River, including Wheeling, W. Va., and Louisville, Ky. PCS-1431 was named Grafton 15 February 1956. She was struck from the Navy List 1 July 1965, and was sold in April 1966.' Spec block: 'dp. 251; l. 136'; b. 25'; dr. 9'; s. 14 k.; cpl. 59; a. 1 40mm., 2 20mm., 2 rkt., 2 dcp., 2 dct.; cl. PCS-1413.' Entry opens 'A county in New Hampshire' (namesake).
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- context
- Documentation level
- ship_specific
- Accessed
- 2026-10-04
- Study period
- 1943-1966
- Population
- Gibbs construction trades (1943-44); wartime and postwar crew (complement ~57-59); Naval Reserve trainees (1955-65)
- Limitations
- Ship-specific history only; no asbestos or material content. DANFS spec block prints class 'PCS-1413' while NavSource, uboat.net, and Navypedia group her in the PCS-1376 class - carried as a conflict (see ev-09, gaps). Live NHHC DANFS page (history.navy.mil .../danfs/g/grafton.html) returned 404 on 2026-10-04; verbatim transcription via the hazegray/losthistory.net DANFS mirror.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-grafton-pcs1431-01
-
[3]NavSource Online: Patrol Craft Sweeper Photo Archive, Grafton (EPCS 1431) ex-PCS-1431, ex-PC-1431 - designation timeline, specifications, commanding officers, 'fate unknown' [other_primary]
- Locator
- NavSource 12/071431.htm header designation line, timeline block, specifications block, commanding-officer table
- Finding type
- vessel_history
- Finding
- NavSource timeline for this hull: 'Originally planned as PC-1431 but reclassified PCS-1431 in April 1943'; laid down 12 May 1943 at Gibbs Gas Engine Corp., Jacksonville FL; launched 2 November 1943; commissioned USS PCS-1431 24 March 1944; 'Decommissioned 13 July 1955 and placed in service as a naval reserve training vessel'; 'Named Grafton 15 February 1956'; 'Reclassified as an Experimental Patrol Craft Sweeper, EPCS-1431'; 'Struck from the Naval Register 1 July 1965'; 'Sold in April 1966'; 'Fate unknown.' Specifications: 245 t. (lt), 338 t. (fl); 136'; 24'6" beam; 8'7" draft; 14.1 kts; complement 57; armament one 3"/50 dual purpose, one 20mm, four depth charge projectors, one depth charge projector (hedgehog), two depth charge tracks; propulsion two 800bhp GM 8-268A diesels, Snow and Knobstedt single reduction gear, two shafts. Call sign November-Tango-Victor-Xray. COs listed: LT George J. Meyer USN (24 Mar 1944), LT Hugh St. Clare Sease Jr. USN (USNA '51). Photos: U.S. Navy photo from July 1951 All Hands magazine; U.S. Navy photo 441720.
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- context
- Documentation level
- ship_specific
- Accessed
- 2026-10-04
- Study period
- 1943-1966
- Population
- Gibbs construction trades (1943-44); crew (1944-55); Naval Reserve trainees (1955-65)
- Limitations
- NavSource is a volunteer secondary compilation, not a primary registry - milestone dates track DANFS/NVR but the EPCS reclassification date is not stated and the page admits 'Fate unknown.' Armament/spec line differs from the DANFS spec block (sources conflict - see gaps). Contains no asbestos content.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-grafton-pcs1431-02
-
[4]uboat.net Allied Warships, USS PCS-1431 (PCS-1431) of the PCS-1376 class - build data, commanding officers, 25 July 1944 exercise event [other_primary]
- Locator
- uboat.net ship page 9302 - data table, 'Commands listed' roster, 'Notable events' 25 Jul 1944 entry
- Finding type
- vessel_history
- Finding
- uboat.net record for this hull: ordered 16 November 1942; laid down 12 May 1943 at Gibbs Gas Engine Co., Jacksonville FL; launched 2 November 1943; commissioned 24 March 1944; end of service 13 July 1955 - 'Decommissioned on 13 July 1955 and placed in service as a naval reserve training vessel. Renamed USS Grafton (PCS-1431) on 15 February 1956. Stricken on 1 July 1965. Sold in April 1966.' Commanding officers (wartime): Lt. George J. Meyer USNR (24 Mar 1944 - mid/late 1945); Jacob R. Thomas USNR (mid/late 1945 - 1 Jul 1946). Notable event: 'During 25 July 1944, the exercises were carried out with the destroyer USS Dahlgren (Lt.Cdr. R.E. Lapides, USNR) and the patrol vessel USS PCS-1431 (Lt. G.J. Meyer, USNR)' - exercises off Key West conducted with submarine USS Escolar, 25-26 July 1944. Cross-checks on the same site: Dahlgren is DD-187 (Clemson class; Lapides commanding 5 Dec 1943 - 16 Mar 1945; Fleet Sonar School service consistent with PCS-1431's assignment); Escolar is SS-294 (Balao class) - lost with all hands on patrol in the Yellow Sea in October 1944, three months after the exercise.
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- context
- Documentation level
- ship_specific
- Accessed
- 2026-10-04
- Study period
- 1942-1966
- Population
- Wartime crew under Lt. Meyer and Jacob R. Thomas (1944-46)
- Limitations
- Specialist secondary compilation (Guðmundur Helgason's uboat.net Allied Warships database), not a primary document; its event entries are built from war diaries/patrol reports but are cited here as the compilation itself. Corroborates DANFS milestones. No asbestos content.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-grafton-pcs1431-03
-
[5]shipbuildinghistory.com (Tim Colton), 'Gibbs Gas Engine Works, Jacksonville FL' - yard history + hull production table (row for PC 1431, O.N. 505887) [other_primary]
- Locator
- Gibbs yard production table, row 'PC 1431' (O.N. 505887); yard-history narrative header
- Finding type
- vessel_history
- Finding
- Post-Navy fate and builder context from the recognized yard-production reference: the Gibbs table lists hull 'PC 1431', official number (O.N.) 505887, 'US Navy / Sub Chaser / 245d / 136 / 24-Mar-44 / Named Grafton 1956, sold 1956 as Hugh Haynie, later SeaHarvester II' - i.e., identifies this hull's post-Navy identity as fishing vessel Hugh Haynie, later SeaHarvester II. Yard history: 'Gibbs Gas Engine Works was founded in 1911 and was a prolific builder of both gas engines and small wooden and steel vessels, in peacetime and in both World Wars. Following World War II the company was renamed Gibbs Corporation and concentrated primarily on ship repair until 1957... In 1964, Gibbs Corporation was sold to Aerojet-General Shipyards Corporation, who initially leased and later sold the shipyard to Bill Lovett... renaming them all Jacksonville Shipyards. The new company was sold again in 1969, this time to Fruehauf Corporation... in 1989 it was sold to Terex Corp., which closed all three yards for good in 1992.'
- Verification
- partial
- Role
- context
- Documentation level
- ship_specific
- Accessed
- 2026-10-04
- Study period
- 1943-1992 (yard); 1966-forward (commercial identity)
- Population
- Post-Navy commercial fishing crew (unverified); Gibbs/Jacksonville Shipyards workforce (yard context)
- Limitations
- Single secondary source for the post-Navy commercial identity - unverified against USCG vessel documentation (the NOAA mirror of the USCG documentation database returned no vessel record for O.N. 505887 on 2026-10-04; route defunct). The stated 'sold 1956' is internally inconsistent with documented Naval Reserve service through mid-1965 and is treated as a typo for 1966 (DANFS: sold April 1966). NavSource lists fate as unknown. No asbestos content.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-grafton-pcs1431-04
-
[6]USS Waldron (DD-699) 1970 cruise book, digitized at e-yearbook.com - biography of CDR Hugh St. Clare Sease Jr. listing prior command of 'USS EPCS 1431' [other_primary]
- Locator
- 1970 USS Waldron cruise book, page 21 (CO biography text)
- Finding type
- historical_record
- Finding
- A contemporaneous Navy cruise book (USS Waldron DD-699, class of 1970) documents the EPCS designation in operational use for this hull: CDR Hugh St. Clare Sease Jr., USNA Class of 1951, 'had served as the Commanding Officer of two ships, the USS EPCS 1431 and the USS PCS 1385.' Confirms EPCS-1431 as a live designation during the post-1956 period and names a commanding officer of the Grafton-era hull beyond NavSource's wartime list.
- Verification
- partial
- Role
- context
- Documentation level
- ship_specific
- Accessed
- 2026-10-04
- Study period
- 1956-1965 (his command window); 1970 (publication)
- Population
- Naval Reserve training-ship crew under a named CO (1956-65 window)
- Limitations
- Commercial digitization host (e-yearbook.com) of a unit-published cruise book; OCR text. Sease's dates aboard EPCS-1431 are not stated in the bio - the command preceded his March 1966 promotion to commander. No asbestos content.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-grafton-pcs1431-05
-
[7]Patrol Craft Sailors Association (ww2pcsa.org), '136-foot, Patrol Craft Sweeper (PCS)' - class specifications and conversion notes [other_primary]
- Locator
- ww2pcsa.org patrol-craft-sweeper.html - class spec table, WWII PCS program table, US Navy conversions list
- Finding type
- historical_record
- Finding
- Class-level reference for the 136-foot PCS type of which this hull was one: 'Length 136 feet; Beam 24 feet, 6 inches; Displacement 251 tons; Engines Two 900-bhp geared diesel engines; Speed 14 knots; Endurance 3,000 nautical miles @ 12 knots; Complement 57; Armament One 3-inch/50 dual purpose, one 40mm and two single 20mm; six 600-pound depth charges, 4 K-guns.' Program table: 90 ordered, 31 cancelled, 59 delivered, cost each $723,000. Conversion note: 'Sonar-School/Training Ship 28 - removed 3-inch/50, replaced with Hedgehog launcher' - consistent with this hull's documented Fleet Sonar School assignment (DANFS) and her NavSource armament line (hedgehog fitted).
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- context
- Documentation level
- class_or_era
- Accessed
- 2026-10-04
- Study period
- 1943-1945
- Population
- Class-wide construction trades and crews (1943-45)
- Limitations
- Veterans' association compilation - secondary, class-level; does not name PCS-1431. Engine rating (900 bhp) conflicts with NavSource's 800 bhp for GM 8-268A - carried in gaps. No asbestos content.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-grafton-pcs1431-06
-
[8]Era inference built on: DANFS spec block and service narrative (steel-hulled diesel patrol craft, 1943-44 build, Navy custody to 1965); NavSource/PCSA class specifications (GM diesel plant, no steam); GAO HRD-80-2 Navy asbestos-use era (see ev-08) [other_primary]
- Locator
- DANFS spec block/service narrative; NavSource and PCSA specification blocks; shipyard-exposure-map era model
- Finding type
- asbestos_application
- Finding
- A steel-hulled patrol craft sweeper built May 1943-March 1944 at a commercial yard under Navy contract sits inside the Navy's documented asbestos-use era. Era-standard applications aboard a small diesel combatant of this type and period were thermal insulation on machinery and exhaust runs, gaskets and valve packing on piping systems, electrical insulation, and deck coverings. As a diesel-engined vessel she carried no steam plant - the boiler/turbine lagging pathway of steam vessels does not apply - but the confined-hull exposure dynamic of a 136-foot craft applies. Her 1946-65 post-war service included reserve-training maintenance periods within the same documented asbestos-use era.
- Verification
- inferred
- Role
- supporting
- Documentation level
- class_or_era
- Accessed
- 2026-10-04
- Study period
- 1943-1966
- Population
- Gibbs construction trades (1943-44); crew (1944-55); Naval Reserve trainees and maintenance trades (1955-65); post-sale commercial crew (unverified)
- Limitations
- Class/era inference only - no hull-specific insulation survey, material list, or work package located for PCS-1431. Names era-standard applications, not confirmed installed materials. No quantity. Product names are normalized era terms; no manufacturer attribution for this hull.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-grafton-pcs1431-07
-
[9]GAO, Navy Efforts To Protect Workers From Asbestos Exposure, HRD-80-2 (Oct 18, 1979) [gao]
- Locator
- GAO product page HRD-80-2 (full text blocked, HTTP 403)
- Finding type
- gov_survey
- Finding
- GAO documented that the Navy used asbestos insulation extensively aboard ships and did not begin substituting alternative insulation materials until the early 1970s - spanning this hull's construction (1943-44), commissioned service (1944-55), and reserve-training custody (1955-65).
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- context
- Documentation level
- class_or_era
- Accessed
- 2026-10-04
- Study period
- 1979
- Population
- Navy shipyard workers; asbestos program review
- Limitations
- Program-level documentation; supports era context only, not any fact specific to this hull. Full text not retrieved (gao.gov blocks automated fetch, HTTP 403 - consistent with prior batches); content via product-page description.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-grafton-pcs1431-08
-
[10]Batch-8349 search ledger (this record): DANFS transcription; NavSource; uboat.net; shipbuildinghistory; PCSA class page; Waldron cruise book; NVR check; NARA deck-log check; NOAA/USCG vessel-doc check; GAO product page; CourtListener base queries; secondary web litigation sweep [other_primary]
- Locator
- search_ledger rows sl-uss-grafton-pcs1431-01 through -12
- Finding type
- historical_record
- Finding
- No qualifying ship-specific asbestos record located: no asbestos survey, abatement contract, hazmat disclosure, or verified litigation naming USS Grafton / PCS-1431 / EPCS-1431 was found in the public sources searched. CourtListener base queries (authenticated, fleet-paced): 'USS Grafton' opinions = 0 hits, 'USS Grafton' dockets = 0 hits, 'PCS-1431' opinions = 0 hits; the fourth base query ('PCS-1431' dockets) could not be completed - the fleet pacing budget was spent on every retry (logged blocked, not a negative result). Secondary web sweeps surfaced no qualifying case - the only 'asbestos aboard' material category is law-firm marketing listicles asserting asbestos without primary sourcing, excluded by source policy.
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- negative_finding
- Documentation level
- ship_specific
- Accessed
- 2026-10-04
- Study period
- 2026-10-04
- Limitations
- Absence of a located public record does not prove absence of asbestos aboard. Deck logs, Gibbs yard work packages, and any disposal/sale-contract records are undigitized leads. Does not establish or defeat any claim of exposure or legal eligibility.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-grafton-pcs1431-09
-
[11]Class-designation cross-check: DANFS spec block ('cl. PCS-1413'); NavSource header ('PCS-1376 Class Patrol Craft Sweeper'); uboat.net ('PCS-1376 class'); Navypedia ('PCS1376' table); HyperWar patrol-craft table (PCS group 1376+) [other_primary]
- Locator
- DANFS spec block; NavSource 12/071431.htm header; uboat.net ship page 9302; navypedia.org us_sc_pcs.htm; ibiblio.org HyperWar ships-pg.html
- Finding type
- historical_record
- Finding
- CORRECTION/CONFLICT: DANFS's own spec block assigns this hull to 'cl. PCS-1413', while NavSource, uboat.net, Navypedia, and the Patrol Craft Sailors Association all group PCS-1431 in the PCS-1376 class. The PCS-1413 number denotes a later subgroup of the same 136-foot design; secondary sources treat the whole series as the PCS-1376 class. Record carries 'PCS-1376 class (DANFS spec block prints PCS-1413 - conflict noted)' as the ship_class value rather than silently picking one.
- Verification
- partial
- Role
- correction
- Documentation level
- ship_specific
- Accessed
- 2026-10-04
- Study period
- 1943-1945 (class assignment window)
- Limitations
- Corrects/flags a class-designation conflict, not a material claim. No asbestos content. The subclass distinction (PCS-1413 vs PCS-1376) is undocumented in the sources at hand beyond the printed labels.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-grafton-pcs1431-10