Evidence
15 evidence entries recorded; each entry has a stable permalink (#ev-1 … #ev-15).
-
[1]research packet 622-packet.md (2 sources cited) [nhhc_danfs]
- Finding type
- vessel_history
- Finding
- Identity packet verdict: Queue: USS Polk County / LST-1084 → VERIFIED — real identity: USS Polk County (LST-1084), ex-USS LST-1084, designated 1 July 1955 (named for counties in twelve U.S. states, including Arkansas). Type: LST-542-class tank landing ship.
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- supporting
- Documentation level
- ship_specific
- Evidence ID
- uss-polk-county-lst1084-pkt-622-packet-md
-
[2]DANFS, Polk County (LST-1084) - full service narrative and spec block; companion entry DANFS LST-1084 (https://www.history.navy.mil/research/histories/ship-histories/danfs/l/lst-1084.html) - construction, sponsor, renaming, striking, battle stars [nhhc_danfs]
- Locator
- DANFS Polk County narrative + spec block (published 2015-08-24); DANFS LST-1084 entry (construction, sponsor, 12-county naming, 15 Sep 1974 striking, battle stars)
- Finding type
- vessel_history
- Finding
- Documented for this hull: 'Polk County was laid down as LST-1084 by the American Bridge Co., Ambridge, Pa., 27 November 1944; launched 19 January 1945; and commissioned 19 February 1945, Lt. Lawrence E. Prehn in command' (the LST-1084 entry adds sponsor Mrs. W. F. Shepherd). Shakedown in the Gulf of Mexico; departed the Gulf coast for the Pacific 17 May 1945; assigned to Amphibious Forces, Pacific Fleet, carried cargo between Pearl Harbor and ports in the Marshalls, Marianas, and Ryukyus to end-1945; arrived San Francisco 20 January 1946; shifted to Vancouver, Wash.; decommissioned 13 August 1946 into the Columbia River Group, Pacific Reserve Fleet. Recommissioned 3 November 1950; two Korean tours 16 May 1951-12 March 1952 and 7 February-23 October 1953 transporting men and equipment from Japan to Korea and along the Korean coast. Renamed Polk County 1 July 1955 (for 12 U.S. counties per the LST-1084 entry). Regular WestPac deployments: 1st Fleet operations in Hawaiian waters and off California; 7th Fleet from Japan to the Philippines; passed through the eye of typhoon Agnes, August 1957. FRAM overhaul October 1960-February 1961 (yard not stated); resumed amphibious operations off California May 1961. Operated in the central Pacific January-August and October-November 1962 'providing logistic support for Joint Task Force 8'. MidPac/WestPac rotations with midshipmen training through December 1965; six months training Army units in Hawaii, then 7th Fleet. Vietnam: arrived 14 January 1966, supply shuttles to Chu Lai and Da Nang, departed 23 March, returned to California 15 May; returned 28 July 1967 offloading LCU-1619 at Saigon, supply carrier for Naval Support Activity Da Nang, shuttle runs to Chu Lai and Cua Viet, calls at Philippines, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Yokosuka; arrived San Diego 21 December 1967; underway 4 November 1968 for a final SEA tour under NSA Da Nang into April 1969; returned San Diego 29 May 1969 for inactivation; decommissioned 3 October 1969 into the Pacific Reserve Fleet; struck from the Navy list 15 September 1974. Awards per DANFS: three battle stars Korean Conflict; four battle stars Vietnam War service. Spec block: dp. 1,625; l. 328'; b. 50'; dr. 13'; s. 11 k.; cpl. 119; t. 121; a. 8 40mm.; cl. LST-511.
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- context
- Documentation level
- ship_specific
- Accessed
- 2026-10-02
- Study period
- 1944-1975
- Population
- American Bridge construction trades (1944-45); crew (1945-46, 1950-69); embarked troops/passengers
- Limitations
- Ship-specific official history only; contains no asbestos or material content. FRAM overhaul location not stated. Spec block carries 'cl. LST-511' while BuShips design grouping and all secondary sources place this hull in the LST-542 series - label variant noted in gaps. Final decommissioning given as 3 October 1969 here; NavSource gives 30 October 1969 - conflict flagged in gaps and the correction row. Korean battle-star count (3 here and in the LST-1084 entry) conflicts with NavSource/EOA four-star listings - flagged in gaps. Both DANFS pages live-verified 2026-10-02.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-polk-county-lst1084-01
-
[3]NavSource Online: Amphibious Photo Archive, USS Polk County (LST-1084) ex-USS LST-1084 - milestone timeline, wartime organization, campaign tables, CO list, spec block, call sign NAOK, photo catalog [other_primary]
- Locator
- NavSource 10/16/161084.htm header block, awards block, timeline, campaign tables, specifications block, commanding-officers table
- Finding type
- vessel_history
- Finding
- NavSource timeline for this hull: laid down 27 November 1944 at American Bridge Co., Ambridge PA; launched 19 January 1945; commissioned USS LST-1084 19 February 1945 (LT. Lawrence E. Prehn USNR). WWII Asiatic-Pacific service under LST Flotilla Thirty-Two (CAPT. D.J. Sweeny), LST Group Ninety-Six (CDR. J.M. Dod USNR), LST Division One Hundred Ninety-One. Navy Occupation Service: 2-9 September 1945 and 15 October 1951-20 February 1952. Decommissioned 13 August 1946 at Vancouver WA, Pacific Reserve Fleet Columbia River Group; recommissioned 3 November 1950. Korean War campaign table: First UN Counter Offensive (11 Feb-17 Mar 1951), Communist China Spring Offensive (28 Apr-1 May and 9-17 May 1951), Second Korean Winter (20-30 Apr 1952), Korean Defense Summer-Fall 1952 (six dated windows May-Oct 1952). Named USS Polk County 1 July 1955. Vietnam campaign table: Vietnamese Counteroffensive (9 Jan-22 Feb 1966, 20-26 Mar 1966), Phase III (23 Jul-23 Aug 1967), Phase VI (18 Dec 1968-2 Jan 1969, 18 Jan-22 Feb 1969), Tet/69 Counteroffensive (23 Feb-15 Mar, 23 Mar-8 Apr 1969). Decommissioned 30 October 1969 at San Diego (conflicts with DANFS 3 October - see gaps); Pacific Reserve Fleet San Diego Group; struck from the Naval Register 15 September 1974; 'Final Disposition, sold, 1 December 1975, for scrapping by (DRMS) Defense Reutilization and Marketing Service.' Awards line: four battle stars for the Korean War and four campaign stars for Vietnam (Korea count conflicts with DANFS 'three' - see gaps). CO list of 15 officers (Prehn Feb 1945-Oct 1945 through Groves Aug-Oct 1969). International call sign NAOK. Generic LST-542 spec block including 'two General Motors 12-567A' diesels - here consistent with the official block assignment (see ev-04).
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- context
- Documentation level
- ship_specific
- Accessed
- 2026-10-02
- Study period
- 1944-1975
- Population
- American Bridge construction trades (1944-45); crew (1945-46, 1950-69)
- Limitations
- NavSource is a volunteer secondary compilation, not a primary registry - milestones track DANFS but the final decommissioning date (30 Oct 1969) conflicts with DANFS (3 Oct 1969) and the Korean battle-star count (4 vs DANFS 3) is unresolved; spec block is generic class data (the 12-567A shown happens to match the official block assignment for this hull). Contains no asbestos content. Live page verified 2026-10-02 (navsource.net, not the dead navsource.org).
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-polk-county-lst1084-02
-
[4]Bureau of Ships, Ships' Data, U.S. Naval Vessels, Vol. 2 (January 1945), construction roster (shipscribe.com Google-scan PDF, p. 190) [other_primary]
- Locator
- SDB1945v2 roster table, p. 190, American Bridge Ambridge block, row LST-1084
- Finding type
- historical_record
- Finding
- The official BuShips construction roster lists LST-1084 at 'American Bridge Co., Ambridge, Pa.' ('do.' under LST-1081) - keel laid 27 November 1944, launched 19 January 1945, first commissioned 19 February 1945 - corroborating DANFS exactly. The hull sits in the roster's American Bridge block (LST-1081 through LST-1091 all 'do.' = same yard, then Jeffersonville B. & Mach. Co. from LST-1096).
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- context
- Documentation level
- ship_specific
- Accessed
- 2026-10-02
- Study period
- 1944-1945
- Population
- American Bridge Ambridge construction trades (1944-45)
- Limitations
- Primary official roster; establishes builder and the three construction milestones only - no material, insulation, or asbestos content.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-polk-county-lst1084-03
-
[5]Bureau of Ships, Ships' Data, U.S. Naval Vessels, Vol. 2 (January 1945), LST design table (shipscribe.com Google-scan PDF, pp. 168-169) [other_primary]
- Locator
- SDB1945v2 LST design table, pp. 168-169: dimensions, machinery (LST1081-1152: 12-567A), accommodations, gears/generators/fuel
- Finding type
- historical_record
- Finding
- Official BuShips design data for this hull's block (LST-1081-1152): 328 ft oa / 316 ft wl, 50 ft beam, 2,366 t beaching displacement / 4,080 t at limiting draft, 11.6 kt trial; machinery '2 G. M. Diesel, 12-567A', 1,700 shp, single Falk main reduction gears, twin screws, twin rudders; three diesel-driven 100 kW 230 V DC ship's-service generators; fuel oil 4,320 bbls; accommodations 13 officers / 106 enlisted. The boiler and steam-condition columns of the table carry entries only for the later turbine prototypes LST-1153/1154/1155 - no boiler or steam plant is listed for any LST-1 through LST-1152 design group, including this hull's block.
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- supporting
- Documentation level
- class_or_era
- Accessed
- 2026-10-02
- Study period
- 1945
- Population
- n/a (design data)
- Limitations
- Class/design documentation: establishes the machinery plant of this hull's design block, not any material content aboard the hull itself. No asbestos information; the diesel plant's asbestos relevance is that it eliminates the boiler/steam lagging pathway and narrows candidate applications to engine-room/exhaust and accommodation systems.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-polk-county-lst1084-04
-
[6]Defense Threat Reduction Agency / Defense Nuclear Agency, 'Operation DOMINIC I - 1962: United States Atmospheric Nuclear Weapons Tests, Nuclear Test Personnel Review' (DNA 6040F, Feb 1983; DTIC ADA136820; DTRA NTPR republication) - JTF-8 ship list, Project 6.1, unit entry 033 Polk County (LST-1084) [other_primary]
- Locator
- DNA 6040F: ship participation table (Scientific, Jun-Aug); Project 6.1 operations paragraph; unit entry 033 'Polk County (LST-1084)'; STARFISH PRIME disposition chart
- Finding type
- historical_record
- Finding
- Official NTPR history documents this hull as a Joint Task Force 8 participant in Operation Dominic I (36 Pacific atmospheric detonations, Apr-Dec 1962): the ship table lists 'USS Polk County (LST-1084), Scientific, Jun-Aug'; unit entry 033 reads 'Tank landing ship with a normal complement of 119. Member of the Scientific Element (TE 8.3.6.4). In February the ship made two trips to Johnston Island, two trips to Christmas Island, and one trip each to Fanning, Jarvis, and Palmyra Islands for logistical support. The ship was not in the Christmas Island danger area during shots there. During STARFISH PRIME (Johnston Island, 8 July, 2300), Polk County was steaming independently on assigned station S-3, east of Johnston Island. At 2230 designated personnel manned stations for nuclear test. Observed nuclear blast bearing 255°T, approximately 310 nmi (574 km) east of detonation.'; and Project 6.1 (Fireball Attenuation) used rocket-borne radio transmitters/receivers on Johnston Island and four ships - USS Oak Hill (LSD-7), USS Fort Marion (LSD-22), USS Polk County (LST-1084), and USNS Point Barrow (T-AKD-1) - to measure radar performance near high-altitude detonations (shots BLUEGILL, KINGFISH, TIGHTROPE). A STARFISH PRIME ship-disposition chart shows USS Polk County positioned east of Johnston Island.
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- supporting
- Documentation level
- ship_specific
- Accessed
- 2026-10-02
- Study period
- 1962 (report 1983)
- Population
- Crew (~119) aboard during Dominic participation Feb-Aug and Oct-Nov 1962; ERDA/AFSWC/Sylvania/Aerojet project personnel possibly aboard
- Limitations
- Ship-specific primary government record, but it documents RADIATION-safety operations, not asbestos - no asbestos or insulation content. The unit entry reports no crew dose figure; NTPR exposure accounting rests on the badged-personnel 'Consolidated List of Exposures,' described as extant but not retrieved. DTRA URL verified live via Firecrawl extraction 2026-10-02 (direct curl is Akamai-blocked); full text also read via the Internet Archive DTIC ADA136820 scan. DTIC citation page was in maintenance this session.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-polk-county-lst1084-05
-
[7]NHHC photo catalog page, NH 68714, USS POLK COUNTY (LST-1084) - 'off San Diego, California, circa 1960s'; 'Courtesy of USS POLK COUNTY, 1969' [other_primary]
- Locator
- NHHC NH-series photo catalog, catalog # NH 68714 (plus NH 68712/68713/68715/68716, NH 79868, NH 69481-KN)
- Finding type
- historical_record
- Finding
- NHHC catalogs photographs of this hull including NH 68714 (off San Diego, circa 1960s, received from the ship in 1969), NH 68715/NH 68712 (underway off San Diego, mid-late 1960s), NH 68716 and NH 68713 (landing practice off San Diego with other LSTs), NH 79868 (as LST-1084 entering San Francisco Bay 1945-46 with LCT-1374 aboard), and insignia drawing NH 69481-KN (received from the ship 1969). Confirms the hull's identity and West Coast operating pattern under its post-1955 name.
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- context
- Documentation level
- ship_specific
- Accessed
- 2026-10-02
- Study period
- 1945-1969
- Population
- Crew (1960s Pacific service)
- Limitations
- Photographic documentation only - physical-presence confirmation; no work record, no material content. Live NHHC page verified 2026-10-02.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-polk-county-lst1084-06
-
[8]Encyclopedia of Arkansas (Central Arkansas Library System), 'USS Polk County (LST-1084)' by Mark K. Christ - citing DANFS and Rottman, Landing Ship, Tank (LST) 1942-2002 (Osprey, 2005) [reputable_press]
- Locator
- EOA entry 13705, full entry text and source list
- Finding type
- historical_record
- Finding
- Independent secondary corroboration of the hull's history, adding two details DANFS phrases loosely: the 1 July 1955 naming honored 'counties in twelve U.S. states, including Arkansas'; and the 1962 JTF-8 logistic support was explicitly 'as it conducted the Operation Dominic nuclear tests, including one code-named Arkansas.' Corroborates milestones: laid down 27 Nov 1944 Ambridge; launched 19 Jan 1945; commissioned 19 Feb 1945; decommissioned Aug 1946 into Columbia River Group; recommissioned 3 Nov 1950; Korean tours 16 May 1951-12 Mar 1952 and 7 Feb-23 Oct 1953; typhoon Agnes Aug 1957; overhaul Oct 1960-Feb 1961; Vietnam 1966, 1967, 1968-69; decommissioned October 1969 (day not given); struck 15 Sep 1974; sold for scrap by DRMS 1 Dec 1975. Lists four battle stars each for Korea and Vietnam (Korea count conflicts with DANFS - see gaps).
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- context
- Documentation level
- ship_specific
- Accessed
- 2026-10-02
- Study period
- 1944-1975
- Population
- Crew (1945-69)
- Limitations
- Reputable state-encyclopedia secondary source citing DANFS and Rottman; adds the explicit JTF-8 = Operation Dominic link consistent with the primary DNA 6040F unit entry (ev-05). Its own typo-level slips (e.g., 'Hurricane Agnes' for the typhoon) and the 4-star Korean count vs DANFS's 3 are noted; no asbestos content. Live page verified 2026-10-02.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-polk-county-lst1084-07
-
[9]NARA Riverside photographs NA 17111 and NA 17112 via NavSource 10/16/161084 image table - 'USS LST-1084 moored pierside at Long Beach Navy Yard, 18 July 1952' [other_primary]
- Locator
- NavSource 10/16/161084.htm image table, photos 1016108412 and 1016108413 (NA Riverside 17112/17111)
- Finding type
- historical_record
- Finding
- Two NARA Riverside photographs (NA 17111, NA 17112) document this hull moored pierside at Long Beach Navy Yard on 18 July 1952 - between her two Korean tours (DANFS: tour 1 ended 12 March 1952; tour 2 began 7 February 1953), consistent with an inter-tour upkeep/availability period at the yard.
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- context
- Documentation level
- ship_specific
- Accessed
- 2026-10-02
- Study period
- 1952-07-18
- Population
- Crew aboard during July 1952 yard period; LBNSY trades working alongside (unquantified)
- Limitations
- Photographs establish physical presence at the yard on one date only; no work order, availability record, or material content is documented. 'Long Beach Navy Yard' is the NavSource caption label for the NARA images. No asbestos content.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-polk-county-lst1084-08
-
[10]Felton JS, 'Radiographic search for asbestos-related disease in a naval shipyard,' Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences 330:341-352 (1979), PMID 294186 [other_primary]
- Locator
- PubMed abstract, PMID 294186 (Ann N Y Acad Sci 1979;330:341-52)
- Finding type
- gov_survey
- Finding
- Peer-reviewed occupational-medicine survey documents asbestos-related radiographic abnormalities in 16.0% of 6,640 Long Beach Naval Shipyard employees chest-x-rayed (88.6% of the shipyard population), with positivity rising linearly by age and length of service and concentrated in production workers - establishing that the yard where this hull was photographed pierside in July 1952 was a documented asbestos-exposure workplace.
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- context
- Documentation level
- context_only
- Accessed
- 2026-10-02
- Study period
- 1979 publication; workforce era 1940s-1970s
- Population
- Long Beach Naval Shipyard employees (survey population)
- Limitations
- Yard-level epidemiology, NOT a hull finding: the population is shipyard employees, not this ship's crew; the study does not name any vessel and does not establish that this hull was worked on, or that any crewmember or yard worker aboard her was exposed. The abstract describes the shipyard's operational window as 1943-1949 - the 1952 photo documents continued naval-shipyard activity at the site. Supports the long-beach-naval-shipyard link's exposure relevance only as context.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-polk-county-lst1084-09
-
[11]Era inference built on: BuShips SDB 1945 v2 machinery data (diesel, no boilers, this block 12-567A); GAO HRD-80-2 program documentation of Navy asbestos insulation use through the early 1970s [other_primary]
- Locator
- SDB1945v2 LST design table (pp. 168-169); DANFS FRAM sentence; DNA 6040F Project 6.1 paragraph
- Finding type
- asbestos_application
- Finding
- A diesel-powered LST built Nov 1944-Feb 1945 at American Bridge, Ambridge PA sits inside the Navy's documented asbestos-use era; era-standard applications aboard a ship of this type and period were diesel-exhaust lagging, engine-room thermal/acoustic insulation, gaskets and valve packing, deck coverings, accommodation insulation, and electrical insulation. The diesel plant (official BuShips data: no boilers for the LST-1 through LST-1152 design groups) eliminates the boiler/turbine lagging pathway that dominates steam-vessel exposure. Two documented events are plausible disturbance contexts for original-era materials: the Oct 1960-Feb 1961 FRAM overhaul (yard not stated in DANFS or EOA) and the 1962 JTF-8 scientific-instrumentation fit-out documented in DNA 6040F - but no material or work record for either was located.
- Verification
- inferred
- Role
- supporting
- Documentation level
- class_or_era
- Accessed
- 2026-10-02
- Study period
- 1944-1969
- Population
- American Bridge construction trades (1944-45); crew (1945-46, 1950-69); FRAM overhaul yard trades (Oct 1960-Feb 1961, yard unidentified); Dominic instrumentation personnel (1962)
- Limitations
- Class/era inference only - no hull-specific insulation survey, material list, or work package located for LST-1084. Names era-standard applications, not confirmed installed materials. No quantity. FRAM scope and yard undocumented; the Dominic fit-out is documented as external instrumentation only, with no structural/material record.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-polk-county-lst1084-10
-
[12]GAO, Navy Efforts To Protect Workers From Asbestos Exposure, HRD-80-2 (Oct 18, 1979) [gao]
- Locator
- GAO product page HRD-80-2 (full text blocked, HTTP 403)
- Finding type
- gov_survey
- Finding
- GAO documented that the Navy used asbestos insulation extensively aboard ships and did not begin substituting alternative insulation materials until the early 1970s - spanning this hull's entire construction (1944-45) and active service (1945-46, 1950-69).
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- context
- Documentation level
- context_only
- Accessed
- 2026-10-02
- Study period
- 1979
- Population
- Navy shipyard workers; asbestos program review
- Limitations
- Program-level documentation; supports era context only, not any fact specific to this hull. Full text not retrieved (gao.gov blocks automated fetch, HTTP 403 - standing defect since Batch-01) - content via product-page description. The ship left naval custody by striking in 1974 and sale in 1975, at the edge of the removal-policy period the report describes.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-polk-county-lst1084-11
-
[13]NARA Catalog: Record Group 24 (Bureau of Naval Personnel), series 'Logbooks of U.S. Navy Ships and Stations' (parent NAID 594258) - digitized monthly deck-log file units titled 'Polk County (LST-1084)' observed for months spanning 1956-1968 (e.g., NAID 284635788 July 1959; 218424322 April 1957; 175033067 February 1962; 178640130 August 1962; 209112449 June 1968) [other_primary]
- Locator
- catalog.archives.gov search "LST-1084" filtered to File Units - 'Polk County (LST-1084) - [Month Year]' RG 24 entries
- Finding type
- historical_record
- Finding
- Digitized deck logs for this specific hull exist in NARA RG 24 as monthly file units - the Dominic-period months (Feb-Aug and Oct-Nov 1962), Korean-tour months, and Vietnam-tour months observed in the catalog search are direct primary records of where the ship was and what she did, including the JTF-8 support period. Also extant per DNA 6040F: the JTF-8 'Consolidated List of Exposures' of badged Dominic personnel.
- Verification
- unverified
- Role
- archival_lead
- Documentation level
- context_only
- Accessed
- 2026-10-02
- Study period
- 1956-1968 observed; wartime coverage unconfirmed
- Population
- Crew (logged months)
- Limitations
- Record-group/series-level identification only - the deck-log pages were NOT read this session (1,469 file-unit hits include incidental other-ship mentions); wartime (1945-46) deck-log digitization for this hull is unconfirmed. Nothing in the catalog entries is an asbestos finding; whether any log page records insulation work or hazmat conditions is unknown until read.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-polk-county-lst1084-12
-
[14]Batch-6572 search ledger (this record): DANFS live pages (Polk County + LST-1084); NavSource 10/16/161084; BuShips SDB 1945 v2 full text; DNA 6040F Dominic I (DTRA NTPR + DTIC ADA136820 scan); NHHC photo NH 68714; Encyclopedia of Arkansas 13705; NARA catalog; NVR; MARAD; NIOSH/HAER sweep; PubMed; CourtListener (blocked); secondary web litigation sweep [other_primary]
- Locator
- search_ledger rows sl-uss-polk-county-lst1084-01 through -14 (incl. -11b)
- Finding type
- historical_record
- Finding
- No qualifying ship-specific asbestos record located: no asbestos survey, abatement contract, hazmat disclosure, or verified litigation naming USS LST-1084 / USS Polk County was found in the public sources searched. CourtListener was partially queried: '"LST-1084"' (opinions) returned zero hits - a real negative for that exact query; '"LST 1084"' and the high-collision '"Polk County"' queries (opinions and dockets) could not be run - the fleet-wide pacing budget was momentarily spent on each attempt (~114/hr shared across sessions); logged as partial in search_ledger. Secondary sweeps surfaced no qualifying case; the only 'asbestos aboard' material is law-firm marketing listicles (e.g., simmonsfirm.com ship listicle) asserting asbestos without primary sourcing - excluded by source policy.
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- negative_finding
- Documentation level
- ship_specific
- Accessed
- 2026-10-02
- Study period
- 2026-10-02
- Limitations
- Absence of a located public record does not prove absence of asbestos aboard - and the litigation repository search is only partial (exact-hull opinion query negative; name and docket queries throttled). Deck logs (NARA RG 24, digitized), American Bridge contract/outfitting files, FRAM work packages (Oct 1960-Feb 1961, yard unidentified), the JTF-8 Consolidated List of Exposures, and DRMS disposal/scrapping records are undigitized or unread leads. Does not establish or defeat any claim of exposure or legal eligibility.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-polk-county-lst1084-13
-
[15]Correction cross-check: DANFS narrative ('decommissioned 3 October 1969', both entries) vs NavSource timeline ('Decommissioned, 30 October 1969, at San Diego CA') and NavSource CO table (LT. Groves commanding to 30 October 1969) [nhhc_danfs]
- Locator
- DANFS Polk County narrative; DANFS LST-1084 entry; NavSource 10/16/161084 timeline + commanding-officers table
- Finding type
- historical_record
- Finding
- CORRECTION/CONFLICT (unresolved): the final decommissioning date is 3 October 1969 in both DANFS entries, but 30 October 1969 in the NavSource timeline - and NavSource's commanding-officers table corroborates its own date (LT. Geoffery J. Groves listed to 30 October 1969). The official DANFS date is carried in the record's decommissioned field; the NavSource variant (self-consistently supported by its CO table) is preserved here and in gaps rather than silently dropped.
- Verification
- verified
- Role
- correction
- Documentation level
- ship_specific
- Accessed
- 2026-10-02
- Study period
- 1969, verified 2026-10-02
- Limitations
- Corrects/flags a date conflict, not a material claim. A plausible-but-unverified reconciliation is inactivation-vs-formal-decommission phasing (ship returned 29 May 1969 'for inactivation'), but no source states that; neither date is asserted over the other beyond carrying the official one. No asbestos content in either source.
- Atlas source
- true
- Evidence ID
- ev-uss-polk-county-lst1084-14